10
Mar
08

the golden girls and other tv taboos

Growing up, my sisters and I had a limited television roster. 

We were allowed to watch cartoons, Lassie, The Cosby Show, and The Brady Bunch.  Of course there were some other shows we could watch, but you get the idea.  If the show was family friendly, wholesome and tame, it would receive the parental stamp of approval.

I can understand — I don’t fault my parents for not wanting their daughters to watch shows like Three’s Company.  I didn’t even know what that show was about, but I had to turn the channel whenever it came on.  It made me extremely curious  every time I heard the theme song:

Man: Come and knock on our door!

      Woman echo: Come and knock on our door

Man:  We’ve been waitin’ for you!

     Woman echo:  We’ve been waitin’ for you

What were they doing behind that door?  They’ve been waiting for me and I have to change the channel?!

One of my earliest memories of being punished by my parents was that I wasn’t allowed to watch The Brady Bunch with my sisters in the living room.  This was quite harsh in my little book.  We watched The Brady Bunch religiously at 4:30 everyday before dinner and they took it away from me.  It was our very-brady-appetizer.  I was devasted.  Devasted and devious.

Through tear blurred eyes, I managed to watch the television by laying on the floor of my room, cracking the door a tiny bit and looking down the hallway.  I did this to spite my parents and keep a leg up (just try to punish me), but also The Brady Bunch was ingrained in my routine and I simply had to watch them.

 In college I discovered The Golden Girls.  Only a few shows will make me laugh like they do.  Who knew senior citizens from 1985 were so timelessly funny?  Their furniture and shoulder pads seep into my conversations: “That couch is very…golden girls.”

Now that I can watch whatever I want, I’ll watch edgier shows which essentially waste my time but entertain nonetheless.  I’m certain that my parents wouldn’t have allowed me to watch The Golden Girls, but here I am putting a clip on my blog.  I could watch Three’s Company and no one would know the difference.  My mother can’t tell me not to watch The Brady Bunch tonight.  However, I haven’t changed that much from when I was a kid that I may lay on the floor and watch it through a cracked door — just to keep a leg up. 

3 Responses to “the golden girls and other tv taboos”


  1. 1 Kristin
    March 10, 2008 at 9:19 pm

    OK, This is just too funny. We, too, were not allowed to watch Three’s Company, but my brothers and I would “sneak” around and watch it on the TV in the basement when my parents were otherwise distracted (easily happened with 6 children). I could tell you what it is about if you ever want to know….ha ha

    Also I hear we may have a three’s company date soon when Jodie comes up to our region! Can’t wait!!!! Why haven’t you and I gotten together yet? We’re such slackers! 🙂

  2. 2 Becca
    March 11, 2008 at 11:48 pm

    Well, believe it or not, it seems you still had more latitude that I did growing up. Unless it was an animated cartoon, it was off-limits, and (in my mind) waaaay toooo risky. I remember how confused I was when Roger Rabbit came out — now here was a mix of cartoon AND live people! What was my little brain to make of THAT?! It SEEMED safe, what-with-all-the superimposed cartoon rabbit clips, but then there were those scary human actors…..

  3. May 10, 2013 at 6:50 pm

    I seriously love your blog.. Pleasant colors & theme. Did you build this site yourself?
    Please reply back as I’m planning to create my own site and would love to know where you got this from or what the theme is called. Kudos!


Leave a Reply

