15
Nov
07

losing sleep over bubble wrap

At 4:30am, my bedroom is very quiet.

No traffic outside, no sunlight, no birds this time of year.  Ideal sleeping conditions.

Yet in the utter silence my brain stirs.  I’ve been lying awake by 4:30 each morning for the last week.  It’s not tossing and turning, but more of a creepy motionless fake-sleep.  My eyes are still closed and I refuse to get up to go to the bathroom. 

In my mind though, I am at work.    The voices of my coworkers are mixed with the word “Pregis.”  Over and over, the word Pregis.  Pree gisss.  I must’ve heard that word at least 87 times today and that’s not including how often it appears in my thoughts. 

Pregis is a new client company that we’re working with.  They manufacture plastic packaging equipment like a bazillion types of bubble wrap.  They also produce the thin, foamy protective wrap that electronics are packaged in.  Someone’s gotta make it, right? They take tiny plastic pellets and turn them into useful packaging tools…that consumers quickly discard after using.  But that’s besides the point.

plank2composite.jpg

The reason why Pregis keeps me up at night is that my company will have an on-site office to provide their temp staff.  We’re expected to be on call 24/7 and available at the whim of any frustrated shift supervisor who doesn’t like their workers.  It’s in our contract with them. We have no pre-existing relationship with this company, so we don’t know what to expect. However, they were weighing the pros and cons of creating an account with a local taxi company at a meeting today for the following reason: so that they’ll have a taxi to call in case a night shift worker comes in drunk and needs to be taken home safely.

I believe that it’s happened, even if it’s only once.  I work in staffing…I’m hard to surprise and not very proud of that. 

I know that I will sleep better as time moves on and details are sorted out.  Either that or I’ll sleep better simply because my body will give up on thinking and go comatose. OR MAYBE I should line my mattress with bubble wrap for comfort? 

5 Responses to “losing sleep over bubble wrap”


  1. November 15, 2007 at 8:03 am

    oh Kari… not so good. I would love to wrap you in bubble wrap and then have Ewan jump into you and fall all over the place to make you laugh. I’m sorry it’s so stressful right now. Love you, sista.

  2. 2 Mom
    November 15, 2007 at 10:47 pm

    Do they really need to produce enough bubble wrap to keep the business going 24/7? I didn’t know it was such a hot commodity. Now when I open all of Linda’s mail order boxes, I’ll think of Pregis. Do they make the large pillow balloon packing things? We see those a lot in our boxes. Don’t let yourself get run down. Think “BALANCE”.

  3. 3 Becca
    November 20, 2007 at 10:15 am

    I’m so proud of you, friend. I know this is hard; keep on hanging in there.

  4. 4 Doug
    December 7, 2007 at 10:01 am

    To think that I googled “protective package packaging” and all I got was a lot of bubble wrap. Very entertaining read.

  5. 5 chriss
    March 21, 2009 at 10:04 am

    Hi! i’m working too at Pregis, but i’m not soo proud. I’m from Romania. here is my e-mail adress, maybe we can change experience. chriss_juve_1985@yahoo.co.uk


Leave a Reply

