12
Nov
07

he loves cheeseburgers and asked for one

At the risk and expense of sounding ENTIRELY INSANE I have decided to post what my newest favorite website is.

I trust that I have established some credibility with you readers over the last five months.  Therefore, trust me I will destroy it when I tell you to go to www.icanhascheezburger.com.

Loving cats helps.  A lot.  Cat haters need not click on the above link.

I’m aware that loving a website featuring cat pictures puts me on the fast track to being that old lady who lives with 99 cats in the country.  But this site has made me smile each day since I discovered it sometime last week, so if you’re going to know me, you’re going to have to know about icanhascheezburger. 

It started with Happy Cat.  He loves cheeseburgers and asked for one:

I CAN HAS CHEEZBURGER?

For me, it’s the tilted head and open mouth that are so funny.  Happy Cat shows up in different places online, so now that you’ve seen him, you’ll see him everywhere:

Happycat foar presidunt!!you gonna eat that?

I don’t know how the website grew from there, but it surely did.  There are 100+ pages of “lolcat” pictures.  The pictures are accompanied by “lolspeak” captions.  Basically, the authors purposefully misspell and use poor grammar, but the message still comes across clearly. It’s the way cats would speak if they could.

It took me by surprise that I had any patience for “lolspeak.”  I’m particular about language.  Sometimes I correct people while they’re speaking…yes, I’m that girl who corrects your English mid-sentence.  Sorry about that, but if you’re not a lolcat you really shouldn’t be speaking like one. 

Below are my favorite lolcats to date.  Feel free to leave sarcastic comments on this blog entry.  I know I’m asking for it, and I love it:

Babushka cats are in ur box bein, old wimmens

128347380320000000conservativecat.jpgfunny pictures & lolcats - oh hai i just straiten this line k

funny picturesfunny pictures

6 Responses to “he loves cheeseburgers and asked for one”


  1. November 12, 2007 at 7:21 pm

    I lol about this! I love the sloth one, and the cheeseburger one. as for your credibility, I don’t think it’s been destroyed as we all have our closet websites that we like to check but would never advertise… If you saw my Favorites bar you would think I’m in the same category as a cat lady too…

  2. 2 Kristin
    November 13, 2007 at 7:54 am

    Oh Kari, I must admit, I have spent more than one computer moment at this website and I don’t even like cats, but I saw it one day and was sucked in by the captions. I had to keep reading and reading…I always do that to my children – pretend Claudia is saying/thinking some crazy thing. It’s been a few months since I was looking at these crazy cats, but I think I’m going to need to head over there again soon. Thanks for the reminder. 🙂 I show my ultimate nerd-dom by particularly liking the ones that make the animals say things in cute-speak from sci-fi movies. You can be the old lady with the cats and I’ll come visit so we can come up with cat-captions together. 🙂

  3. 3 Mom
    November 14, 2007 at 10:40 pm

    I especially enjoyed the CPR cat! I remember Sox giving me CPR in bed at night! That was a cute one and soooo realistic!

  4. December 27, 2007 at 7:18 pm

    I just came across your site and am really enjoying it. By the way, I AM the Crazy Cat Lady and take great pride in it!

  5. 5 Becca
    March 4, 2008 at 6:24 am

    These cats make me laugh harder and harder every time I see them. (Wiseman cat still rocks my world.) Could this be a manifestation of the Princess Bride syndrome, I wonder?……


Leave a Reply

