03
Nov
07

and you thought pumping gas was mundane

Pop the gas cap door.

Unscrew the gas cap.

Pay outside, credit.

Beep!  *dials zero out*

Begin fueling!  Thanks for shopping at Hess Express!  Come inside for our new Texas Toaster breakfast sandwiches!

Welcome to my favorite gas station, Hess.  There are two Hess stations near my home and I drive past at least one of them every day.  How could I resist that green & white sign, the competitive pricing and the Texas Toasters?  (Ew, by the way.  If I’m going to buy a breakfast sandwich, it won’t be from under a heat lamp in a gas station.)  I will, however, pump my gas there.

And it was at a Hess station last night where I saw my breath for the first time since last March.  Make a note: visible breath on November 2nd.  There is no turning back now.  Until next March, my gray smokey breath will be slinking around my head while outside.

I would have liked to be apart of that meeting in Heaven when God decided to make breath visible on cold days. 

Angel Gabriel:  Geez, winter days are pretty depressing in upstate New York.

God:  Well, I’m taking suggestions on how to spice it up so let’s brainstorm! 

Me:  What if humans could snap their fingers and create fire to keep warm?

Angel Gabriel:  Or what if all the snow on the ground spontaneously melts as soon as the temperature hits 33 degrees?

Me:  That would cause floods, Gabe.

Angel Gabriel:  Well, your idea would cause a lot of fires so I had to put them out with floods.

The meeting would go on like that for while before God reigns us in and calls the final shot.  Smokey breath is harmless and can be beautiful when the light hits it just so.  I’ve seen rainbows in it.

It’s mostly carbon dioxide and water vapor.  In an instant the water molecules that have traveled up from my lungs crowd together in a chilly frenzy.  They grab hold of each other by nature, and float away from my mouth and into oblivion as suspended lighter-than-air ice crystals.  As if that isn’t incredible enough, those water molecules may fall back on my head as raindrops someday.  This creation is absolutely astounding and I can’t do anything but humbly accept my place within it with gratitude.

Click!  *gas pump stops*

$36.57

Top off to $37 against manufacturers recommendations

Place pump back onto it’s holder

Screw gas cap back on and close little door

Breath one last frozen, cloudy breath before getting into my warm car and heading home.

3 Responses to “and you thought pumping gas was mundane”


  1. 1 Shawn
    November 7, 2007 at 10:42 pm

    Pumping gas actually isn’t mundane to me. The only way I get through it with my sanity is to see if I can “beat” the cost total from the last time I filled up. This way I turn it into a game instead of being angry or passing out after seeing that a tank of gas cost me almost 70 bucks. Haha..

  2. 2 Mom
    November 8, 2007 at 8:06 pm

    Kari, I love the picture of the bird breath! Wouldn’t it be nice if when we have bad breath, it came out so we could see it. Then we would know we have it:) But then everyone else would too:( Maybe that’s not so nice.

    Love Ya Muchly!

  3. October 4, 2014 at 11:57 pm

    Hello friends, pleasant article and pleasant urging commented here, I am
    actually enjoying by these.


Leave a Reply

