07
Sep
07

like petting a cat backwards

The word “Narnia” finds its way into my conversations several times each winter.  I’ll exclaim, “It’s Narnia!” when I see wooded land covered in crisp snow.  Maybe I say “Narnia” more than I’m letting on…OK, so I say it all the time in the winter.  Clearly, I like snowy Narnia.

The kids from The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe walked into a dark closet — going back, back, back into the blackness until they found Narnia.  There, beyond the fur coats and pine needles, was brilliant country where they lived out their adventures.

2005_the_chronicles_of_narnia_wallpaper_013.jpg

The closest that I’ve come to finding a real Narnia was cross-country skiing at night, but that’s a whole other entry.  For now, I’m stuck standing in front of a wardrobe.

I grew up with the understanding that the youngest child of a family was usually the wildest.  The fewer worries, fewer reservations, fewer responsibilitiess, fly-by-seat-of-your-pants kid.  Maybe that was true of me when I was much smaller, but not anymore! For the present me, walking into a dim and mysterious wardrobe is like petting a cat backwards.  I’ll claw you.

cat.jpg

However, Narnia is set beyond the wardrobe.  I don’t know how many Narnia’s I’ve missed in my life because I’ve been terrified to walk through a dark closet to get there.  I pray it isn’t many, and I pray that I’ll have the courage to walk through the next one.

inside-narnia-lucy.jpg

0 Responses to “like petting a cat backwards”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

