22
Aug
07

my succulent little garden snail

Mike: Good morning, Roz, my succulent little garden snail. And who will we be scaring today?
Roz: Wazowski! You didn’t file your paperwork last night.
Mike: Oh, that darn paperwork! Wouldn’t it be easier if it all just blew away?
Roz: Don’t let it happen again.
Mike: Yes, well, I’ll try to be more careful next time.
Roz: I’m watching you, Wazowski. Always watching. Always.

 roz-office.jpg

It’s not that Monster’s Inc. is my favorite movie, but I LOVE the character of Roz, the cranky office manager.

When I first saw the movie, I laughed harder at her more than anything else — and I wasn’t even in the work world at the time.  She’s a classic character and I believe we all know a Roz.  As my job goes, I interact with at least two Roz’s a day.

Inflexible, small minded, difficult, quick to judge and slow to give grace.  If you left all your Roz’s in a room, they may line up by age or height, just to feel more organized.  They’d join together in a chorus of eye rolling we-know-better-than-upper-management grumpiness, but they’d stay in that room until their tasks were completed.

chrs_roz2.jpg

In my experience, Roz’s are great once you’re in.  Prove to a Roz that you’re a real person with sincere intentions and she’ll hook you up with all sorts of great stuff. Once the Roz of a client company likes me, I can count on an extremely long term relationship from her.  So while I can list all of her negative attributes, I can also say that Roz is loyal, reliable, unwaivering and refreshingly real.   She probably has a tomato garden at home.

The Roz’s that I know give me a chance, everyday, to love the unlovable. 

cranky-lady.jpg

8 Responses to “my succulent little garden snail”


  1. 1 Becca
    August 23, 2007 at 8:08 am

    I meet a lot of Ros R.N.’s (aka, the hospital nurse version of “secretary Ros”) that end up being my FAVORITE people to see around, day to day, as I do my med-student thing. It takes a while, but yep, once you’re in with a Ros, you’re IN. For good.
    And their indescribable, hard-won (half)smile tells you so. 🙂

  2. 2 Liana
    August 23, 2007 at 7:30 pm

    This is too funny… Jeff (My husband) does a GREAT Roz-voice…
    Whenver I have a bad day, he breaks the voice out, “What can I do for you now?”

    How true, we all have a few Rozs’ in our lives.

  3. 3 Kristin
    August 23, 2007 at 11:47 pm

    Uh, I have a tomato garden…but it didn’t grow very well. Does that make me only half Roz? 🙂

  4. 4 Kristin
    August 23, 2007 at 11:48 pm

    I forgot to mention, I love Roz’ glasses. I must be a Roz wanna be what with the garden, the glasses, the cool hairdo….

  5. December 23, 2012 at 9:42 pm

    Thanks a bunch for sharing this with all of us you actually know what you
    are talking about! Bookmarked. Kindly also visit my website =).

    We could have a link exchange agreement between us!

  6. July 27, 2013 at 3:55 am

    The forklift certification you receive will expire in three years.
    Line 1 ‘ (a) 1st Refrain Don’t try to find somebody
    to blame,. The European mechanical testing and European handling equipment
    market will grow at a healthy rate.

  7. October 2, 2014 at 1:56 pm

    In Llanberis, there are so many attractions it’s difficult to list them all.
    Dedicating a space in your yard or on your patio to plant a perennial garden allows you to memorialize this special person through the
    loving language of flowers and plants and welcome the essence of life back into your
    world. Fountains can make a great addition to any outside
    area and with the several variations, dimensions obtainable to choose from, you
    are certain to discover one that will meet your specific tastes and preferences.
    Maybe you won’t be going off-grid, but you can make a
    difference and reduce your reliance on energy wasting,
    pollution producing methods of living.

  8. December 23, 2016 at 3:17 am

    I’ve read some excellent stuff here. Definitely price
    bookmarking for revisiting. I surprise how much attempt you place to make the sort of magnificent informative site.


Leave a Reply

