14
Aug
07

I’m #1 so why try harder?

11.jpg

I imagine this guy’s name is Rusty.  Or Anthony.  Whatever it is, can someone look up his phone number for me?  I would like to tell him of the joy he’s brought me, wearing that little shirt of his.

Rusty’s t-shirt would go well with Tiffany’s tsunami, no?  (see ‘title of this blog’ page)

For some reason I’m drawn to sayings like this on Rusty’s shirt.  The self awareness, the sarcastic selfishness of it.  I wonder if they only make these shirts in sizes XL and up because if a super thin person were to wear it, they’d run the risk of someone thinking they were serious

But maybe Rusty is serious?  Maybe he’s referencing how well he can drive a remote controlled car or how well he shucks corn?  Maybe it’s not about how he looks, but silly me, that’s how my mind works.  And I bet yours does too.

3 Responses to “I’m #1 so why try harder?”


  1. August 17, 2007 at 12:19 am

    That’s so true that Rusty can wear this shirt and be funny, like he’s #1 at hot dog eating contests or something. But if an Abercrombie model were to wear that shirt, we’d immediately put him in the Arrogant category and avoid him at all costs for fear that we’d get in his way.

  2. 2 Paul
    September 16, 2009 at 12:34 am

    This is a kind of iconic image in the UK. Fatboy Slim featured the colour version of this photo on an album CD cover and you started seeing it on Billboards and on the London Underground about 10 years back. There was even a music video featuring an actor dressed as Rusty in that T-Shirt.

    It always raises a laugh with me too and I use it as an atavar.

  3. April 20, 2013 at 10:17 am

    Hello, Neat post. There’s a problem with your site in web explorer, may check this? IE nonetheless is the marketplace leader and a good element of other folks will omit your great writing due to this problem.


Leave a Reply

