03
Aug
07

they’d kill me sacrificially

I have a new fantasy.

I discovered this past week that if I could go back in time — any where, any time — I’d choose to go to ancient Egypt!  Here’s why:

I caught a glimps of a National Geographic documentary on the pharaohs.  Lots of pictures of hieroglyphics, etched tombs, shots of blowing sand (see how it erodes!) and narration accompanied face-less dramatizations of battles and royal rituals.  I especially like the parts where they filmed group shots of “slaves” working.  They must’ve been present-day Egyptians who came to gawk at the sight of all the cameras, then agreed to be IN the movie as long as they’d just wear those skimpy loin cloths from back in the day.  Maybe the film makers bought them all lunch?  Anything to make a buck, or a pound in Egyptian money!  (Yes, I had to look that up).

socialpyramid.jpg

Anyhow, the documentary got me thinking.  We know quite a bit about ancient Egyptian culture based on artifacts.  But how much we must NOT know is what makes my brain all excited!

I’d go back for a day.  To start at the top, I would be in the pharaoh’s palace.  I would hide in the dark corners because I think if they saw me, they’d kill me sacrificically.  (Imagine THAT hieroglyphic?)  Where’s the bathroom?  Where’s the kitchen?  Where do all the glorified cats live?  What’s for dinner? Do they know what cranberries taste like?  Probably not, and they’re missing out

cranberry_image.jpgsacredcat.jpg

I’d slink my way down the social hierarchy.  Dodging in and out of dark corners, I’d observe the upper, middle and lower classes living their lives and glorifying their cats.  It would probably be pretty smelly in the dark corners.  In fact, it may be smelly everywhere in ancient Egypt. Eggy South Glens Falls couldn’t hold a candle to ancient Egypt!  (See post “a lousy bloodhound”)

My new fanstasy is a surprise to me.  Normally, I don’t like heat and the desert is the last place I would choose to go.  But National Geographic can’t tell the whole story and that’s enough to make me daydream…

funerary.jpg

 

 

3 Responses to “they’d kill me sacrificially”


  1. 1 Mom
    August 4, 2007 at 1:20 am

    I think I’ll have start Ron planning a family vacation to Egypt so you can roam the Pyramids!
    Kari, you never cease to amaze me with your fantasies.

  2. 2 Becca
    August 4, 2007 at 5:24 pm

    Cranberries…Yep, they’d definitely be missing out!
    Haha, imagine the Egyptian version of our first Pilgrim dinner! (what would they plant instead of fish? Would they roast popcorn?)

  3. 3 karistiansen
    August 4, 2007 at 6:53 pm

    I believe they would roast poisonous snakes and wrap them in pounded wheat flat breads. At least that’s what they did when I was there! :o)


Leave a Reply

