22
Jul
07

The Rock Hill Bakehouse

The Rock Hill Bakehouse is a privately owned bakery in South Glens Falls that specializes in breads. Lots of really good bread. Their menu states “We are real people who like real food.” They have a large bakery located right off of exit 17 on the Northway, and a restaurant/coffee house in downtown Glens Falls. In the bakery they have a sign by the register that demands SMALL BILLS ONLY. Once I had a $10 and received a sour look from the white-bearded man who owns the whole place. So much for customer service.

I have a couple memories that were made at the Rock Hill Bakehouse, and I had a great one happen just today.

I ate there with my grandparents. We were served by a teenager with lip and nose piercings and sat right next to a classical guitarist. I thought it was pretty neat, but then again I didn’t have to look at him while we were eating. That was grandpa’s treat.

The guitarist looked like John the Baptist, 2007. He was unkempt and wild. His hair was in a pony tail and his beard was messy. He wore very short denim shorts…too short. His hairy legs ended at grimy toes and flip flops that had fallen onto the ground below his stool. I liked my sandwich and grandpa liked his, but we hadn’t left the parking lot before the hairy legs were mentioned. They are real people who like real food.

In a place like that, or in any whole foods store for that matter, I usually feel sorely out of place. I feel like an antiseptic wipe in a petri dish. Like a Mary Kay rep at the Ingles’ doorstep, like Paris Hilton on the Appalachian Trail. They sell me things because my money is as green as they next guy’s, but must think that I could be “greener.”

Now, I’m not wearing Prada or Versace. But I’m not wearing a do-rag over a braid. It’s a subculture that I’ve never tried to infiltrate and probably never will.

Our sandwiches today were $10 each. Indeed, the ingredients were “real” and were served by “real” people. I also suspect the white-bearded man is lining his all-nature leather wallet with real small bills.

3 Responses to “The Rock Hill Bakehouse”


  1. 1 Mom
    July 23, 2007 at 12:56 am

    Kari,
    I’m so glad that you are blogging. I think that you will really enjoy it and I will enjoy reading it and getting insights into your thoughts this way. I’ve never heard of this bakery. We’ll have to go there sometime with you.

    Love always,
    Mom

  2. 2 Kristin
    July 23, 2007 at 3:37 pm

    Ewwwww…I have quite the mental picture of the short shorts…I’m glad you joined the blog wagon. You are going to be added to my list. Love, Kristin

  3. February 24, 2014 at 5:04 am

    These substances are said to be hypo-allergenic and have antibacterial elements, while being chemical free at the
    same time. The detergent Industry has turned to the use of
    powerful, and environmentally complex molecules to eliminate the impact of water hardness upon surfactant cleaning abilities.
    Two of the common symptoms of alternate work schedule sleep disorder are
    disruption of sleep and excessive sleepiness.


Leave a Reply

